Databases & Resources

A database is a collection of information (citation information and/or full text of sources) that has been organized and is searchable. Database providers are the companies that provide access to specific databases. This is similar to how streaming services work, where a company (such as Netflix) provides access to specific TV shows (such as Stranger Things).

Each database provider may look different and include different subjects or types of source, but ALL database providers share common features:

1. Search Box(es) - enter keywords
2. Limit / Refine Search Results - by date, source type, subject, peer-review, etc.
3. Tools to Manage Your Research - link (URL), copy, save, email, print, cite, export, etc.

See below for more information about the database providers for CSM's library databases, or check out the tabs in the left column for tips on using databases from each provider.

ProQuest

ProQuest includes multiple databases including multidisciplinary, subject-specific, eBook collections, reference, and more. Types of sources include scholarly journals, eBooks, newspapers, magazines, trade journals, dissertations and theses, case studies, market/industry reports, company profiles, working papers, conference proceedings, and streaming video.

ProQuest One Academic searches across all of ProQuest's databases. There are also options to search specific databases or collections such as:

• subject-specific databases (Arts & Humanities, Education, Health & Medical, Social Science, Science, etc.)
• eBook collections (Ebook Central and Academic Complete)
• multidisciplinary databases (Research Library, SIRS Issues Researcher, and Dissertations & Theses Global)
• news databases (U.S. Newsstream and International Newsstream)

EBSCO

EBSCO hosts multiple databases including multidisciplinary, subject-specific, eBook collections, and reference databases. Many of these databases provide full text of sources such as journal articles, newspapers, magazines, eBooks, reports, topic overviews, and more.

Popular databases from EBSCO include:

• Academic Search Premier - multidisciplinary database with full text for many journals
• Business Source Premier - business database
• Communication & Mass Media Complete - subject database for communication, mass media, and related fields of study
• CINAHL - nursing and allied health subject database
• eBook Collection / eBook Academic Collection - multidisciplinary databases of eBooks on many topics
• ERIC - education database (also publicly available outside of EBSCO)
• GreenFILE - subject database for environment-related subjects (including topics such as climate change, pollution, renewable energy, recycling, sustainability, etc.) with scholarly, government, and popular sources
• Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - subject database for nursing, allied health, and related medical disciplines
• MEDLINE - subject database for multiple health science fields including medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care
• Regional Business News - business database with publications from metropolitan and rural areas in the U.S.
• Teacher Reference Center - education database with journals and magazines for teachers and administrators

Gale

Gale databases include multidisciplinary, subject-specific, and eBook collections. These databases provide full text of sources such as journal articles, newspapers, viewpoint essays, eBooks, reports, topic overviews, and more.

• Gale eBooks - includes encyclopedias and other reference sources for multiple subjects
• Gale In Context: Biography - includes biographies from narrative biography sources, news, magazines, and multimedia content
• Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints - topic overviews, news, viewpoint essays, opinions, and academic journal articles on many current social issues
• Gale Literature Resource Center - includes author biographies, overviews, literary and film criticism, interview (audio and/or transcripts), and reviews
• Gale Presents: Peterson's Test Prep - information about colleges and scholarships along with test prep eBooks and practice tests

Infobase

Infobase databases include CREDO Reference and the Infobase Academic eBook Collections.

• CREDO Reference - topic overviews, reference books, and links to related content from other CSM databases (such as ProQuest and EBSCO)
• Infobase Academic eBook Collections - eBooks in multiple subject areas including arts, careers, business, criminology, culture, current issues, education, geography, health, history, languages, literature, mathematics, politics, science, technology, and women's studies

Oxford

Oxford University Press Databases include reference materials and eBooks.

• Oxford Reference Premium Online - encyclopedias, dictionaries, timelines, overviews, and other reference sources for multiple subjects
• Oxford Very Short Introductions - eBooks with concise introductions on a variety of subjects
• Oxford English Dictionary Online - definitions, history, and origins of English words

PubMed Central

PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journals from the U.S. National Institute of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). PMC is part of a larger network of PubMed/MEDLINE (which compiles citations and may include links to full text content from PMC or publisher websites), MeSH (Medical Subject Headings controlled vocabulary thesaurus), and MedlinePlus (online health information resource for patients).

Nexis Uni

Part of LexisNexis, Nexis Uni provides news sources along with subject-specific content for business (company information), criminal justice (cases and law reviews), and political science (publications and country information).