Databases & Resources

The name of the specific EBSCO database(s) you are searching can be found just above the search box. Use "Choose Databases" to add, remove, or change databases.

Basic Search

The basic search option in EBSCO databases provides one search box and options to limit your search to full text and limit to peer-reviewed sources. This is the search option that you will see when you click on a link to the database.

Advanced Search

The advanced search option in EBSCO databases provides multiple search boxes (and options to add more) and access to additional options to limit your search by publication date, publication type, document type, location, language, and more.

Subject Terms (also called subjects or controlled vocabulary) are the database’s “official” keywords assigned to topics. When searching with subjects, your results will most likely be more precise and relevant.

• Clicking on the subject term (or changing the search box’s “select a field” to Subject) will only bring up results that have been labelled with that controlled vocabulary in the subject field. 
  • Tip: you can also add a Subject Term to your list of keywords. 
• Find Subject Terms in: 
  • Database records of a source (journal article, periodical, etc.) 
  • Subject Terms or similar phrase ("Subjects," "Thesaurus," etc.) at the top of the screen – this is a searchable list of all controlled vocabulary from the database 

Using EBSCO's Subject Terms (Subjects, Thesaurus, etc.)

When you click on "Subject Terms" (or similar phrase) at the top of the page, you will be able to browse or search for subject terms to add to your search.

The thesaurus (or other controlled vocabulary lists) used in databases uses a hierarchical system. After clicking on a term, there may be other information and terms such as:

• Scope Note - details about what this subject term is used for
• Broader terms - the bigger category this term falls under
• Narrower terms - the more specific subcategories for this term
• Related terms - other terms related to the subject
• Used for - other common keywords that this subject term is used for

Check the boxes next to the term(s) you want to use and click "Add". This will add the subject term to the search box at the top of the page.

• Use "OR" to add multiple related options for terms (such as "psychological burnout" OR "job stress").
• Use "AND" to add multiple required parameters for your search (for example: "psychological burnout" AND "preschool teachers").

Limits are tools to limit your search results based on multiple criteria. Limits can be selected from the Advanced Search page, or added/updated on the search results page.

Options generally include:

• Full Text (only shows sources you can access immediately) 

• Peer Review 

• Publication Date

• Source Type (Academic Journals, Books, Newspapers, Magazines, Trade Publications, Reviews, and others)
  

• Subject: Thesaurus Term (terms from the database's thesaurus)

• Subject

• Publication

• Publisher

• Company

• Language

• Geography

• NAICS/Industry (mostly used for business research)

Specific EBSCO databases may have additional or different options, depending on the subject.

Database records include all kinds of information that can be useful when evaluating a source to determine if it meets your needs, such as:

• Author information (including affiliations or credentials)
• Source (click on this to view information about the publication, such as whether it is peer-reviewed)
• Document Type
• Subject Terms (database's official keywords associated with this source)
• Author-Supplied Keywords
• Abstract (a summary of the source)
• Full Text (on the page, as a PDF, or link to external site)

The record page also includes information you may need for creating your citations, such as:

• Publication Date
• Volume and Issue
• DOI
• Permalink or URL
• Database

Other Features

• Find Similar Results using SmartText searching. 
• Cited References (links to database records for the sources included in this source's reference list, bibliography, or works cited)

Tools

When viewing a record page, tools for saving, exporting, and citing will be in a column on the right side of the page. When you select a tool, a box will pop up above the record (but below the search box).

Saving / Exporting

Options for viewing full text (PDF or HTML) and downloading PDFs are on the left side of the page.

• PDF Full Text (use arrow to download or printer icon to print)
  
• Print (print detailed record and/or HTML Full Text)
  
• Email (sends record, full text, and link)
  
• Add to folder (to email multiple sources at once)
• Permalink (stable URL that will bring you back to this database record page; also useful for citing your source)
  

Citing

• Cite
  
• Export to NoodleTools (log in to your NoodleTools account before using this tool!)