Search by name or birth/death date to find narrative biographies, news, magazines, and multimedia content about current and historical figures.
Specialized reference eBooks for multidisciplinary research.
Includes author biographies, literature overviews, criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews. Searchable by author, title, genre, and literary movement.
Information about current social issues from topic overviews, news, opinions, pro/con essays, and other sources.
Most of the Gale databases look the same and have similar search functions, limits, and tools.
Found on the home page for the database, the basic search option in Gale databases provides one search box. The home page also includes links for specific options in each database, such as "Browse Issues" (Opposing Viewpoints), "Browse People" or "Person Search" (Biography), and "Works Search" (Literature Resource Center).
The advanced search option in Gale databases provides multiple search boxes for specific types of information (plus the options to add more) along with options to limit your search by publication dates, content type, peer-review, and more.
According to Gale, the Topic Finder "tool takes the titles, subjects, and approximately the first 100 words from a subset of your top results and feeds them into an algorithm. Keywords shown in the graphics are those found most often in the text with your search term."
Visualization as Tiles:
Visualization as a Wheel:
Gale databases divide your search results into categories, which vary depending on the database.
There are also filtering options available on the right.
Database records include all kinds of information that can be useful when evaluating a source to determine if it meets your needs, such as:
When viewing a record page, tools for saving, exporting, and citing will be at the top of the page.
Search or browse collections.
Once you select a book, you can:
