Most academic books, including textbooks, are not designed to read straight through.
"Academic" books are usually published by a university press or specialized publishing companies who focus on scholarly or educational content.
Textbooks are also academic or educational, but usually follow a different format and are designed to be used for a class.
When searching for eBooks, you can use many of the same strategies as you use for finding articles. You can also search using a title, author, or other publication information.
In the library, browse books related to nursing using call numbers that start with:
For related topics in science and medicine, find call numbers that start with:
Check out these "best bets" databases for finding eBooks!
Includes reference, fiction, and nonfiction eBooks for multiple subjects.
Multidisciplinary collection of eBooks covering a broad range of academic subjects.
Full-text eBooks for multiple subject areas.
Full-text eBooks for multiple subject areas.
eBooks providing concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas. [582 titles]
Additional databases containing eBooks can be found in A-Z Databases by limiting database type to eBooks.
Search library collections in your community and around the world.
If you live in Maryland, you can access many resources through your local public library - including eBooks! Public libraries will likely have more variety if you are looking for fiction, and can be helpful to supplement the nonfiction and educational eBooks provided by CSM Libraries.
Search library collections in your community and around the world.