Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

eBook Collections

How to access and use the thousands of eBooks in CSM Libraries' databases.

CREDO Reference

Search with keywords or browse topics. Articles from reference books (such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, topic overviews, bibliographies, and research guides) related to the topic will show in the results page.

Search results for "human rights" on CREDO Reference

Reading Online

Articles or entries can be read online.

Article page on CREDO reference

Downloading & Tools

Tool options for an article in CREDO Reference

  • Save - adds to your "saved items" in the top right corner of the page
  • Citation
  • Print - download a PDF
  • Share - send via email
  • Read Aloud
  • Translate

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online

Browse in categories or search to find articles.

Articles in this database can be read online. Navigate through parts of the article using the Table of Contents (on the left).

Article about "human rights" in Encyclopaedia Britannica Online

Tools include:

Icons for tools available in Encyclopaedia Britannica Online

  • Share (email)
  • Favorite - requires login to personal account
  • Print - shows a print-friendly view of the article, which can also be saved as a PDF
  • Cite
  • Translate
  • Font Size (increase/decrease)

Greenwood Digital Collection

Book titled "Understanding Disability" in the Greenwood Digital Collection

  • Read online
  • Navigate using the Table of Contents (on the left)
  • Print sections (also allows you to save as a PDF)
  • Email
  • Cite
  • Font Size

Oxford University Press Databases

Oxford Reference & Oxford Very Short Introductions

These two databases provide similar search options and tools.

Browse or search by subject or reference type (in Oxford Reference). You can start with a specific book, or look for entries on a topic in multiple books.

Tip: Limit your search results to "unlocked" and "free" to only see resources accessible by CSM students.

Search results page for "music" in Oxford Very Short Introductions

When viewing an entry, you can:

Icons for tool options in Oxford databases

  • Read online by viewing the full article on your browser
  • Print - creates a printer-friendly version of the entry that can also be saved as a PDF
  • Save - requires a personal Oxford account
  • Cite
  • Email
  • Navigate using the Table of Contents or view suggestions of "Related Content"

Oxford English Dictionary Online

In addition to definitions, this resource provides the etymology (origin) and history of words. The OED also includes resources such as timelines, sources, a historical thesaurus, and browsing by categories (including subject, usage, region, or origin).

Home page of the Oxford English Dictionary Online