Southern Maryland Studies Center

Statement adapted from the University of Pittsburgh Library System’s “Notice on Harmful, Offensive, or Misrepresentative Archival Description and Language” and the John Hopkins Special Collections & University Archives Best Practices Manual

The Southern Maryland Studies Center provides access to a wide range of materials. We aim to describe our archival materials in a way that is respectful to, and informed by, the communities who use, create, and are represented in our collections. Some collections may contain offensive or harmful language, insensitive or racist images, or other sensitive material that may bring discomfort when reading, viewing, or engaging. The Southern Maryland Studies Center does not endorse the views expressed in such materials but is committed to preserving the full historical record.

Archival description should strive to reflect the full humanity of the people who created collections as well as those whose lives are represented in them, but both historically and in the present day, archivists have fallen short of this ideal. The Southern Maryland Studies Center practices reparative description as an integral part of our work to amend inadequate or offensive representation of people who have experienced oppression.

For existing collections, this might involve rephrasing or contextualizing problematic language and/or adding new descriptions to include people represented in the records who were not previously described. For new collections, this requires the processor to be thoughtful and sensitive in their approach to describing people and groups. Patrons with questions or concerns about our materials are encouraged to contact us by email (smsc@csmd.edu).