Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty & Staff Resources

This guide provides information about library services for faculty and staff at CSM.

Welcome!

This guide includes information about library services, especially those that are relevant for CSM faculty and staff. Please feel free to reach out to us with any additional questions! General library contact information (along with specific locations and people) can be found on the left underneath the menu.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

What divisions and departments does the library fall under?

The library (LIB) is in the Department of Learning (DOL) and is part of the School of Liberal Arts (SLA).

Where is the library?

Each of the three main campuses (La Plata, Leonardtown, and Prince Frederick) has a library. The library at the La Plata campus is the largest and holds the majority of the physical collections (books, DVDs, CDs, etc.).

La Plata (LAPL-LIB): LR Building

Leonardtown (LEON-LIB): Building C, Room 102

Prince Frederick (PRIN-LIB): Building A, Room 112

Who works in the library?

CSM Libraries has faculty, staff, and student positions.

Faculty Librarians

Faculty librarians are full time, 12-month tenured/tenure-track faculty. They provide reference services, research consultations, and instruction (information literacy and research skills) to all CSM students, faculty, and staff. They also contribute to administration in the library through collection development and maintenance (choosing books, databases, and other resources to purchase), creation of online resources (including supplemental learning materials and instructions for accessing specific types of information or resources), and providing in-person and virtual services. Faculty librarians also provide library and research guides, tutorials, and workshops on topics such as citation styles, plagiarism, scholarly research, database searching, and more. 

Faculty can request a class visit from a faculty librarian. Class visits can include coverage of a broad range of topics related to information literacy and resource skills. See the “Requesting Library Instruction” tab to learn more. 

Staff

Library staff includes library coordinators, library assistants, and circulation staff. Library Coordinators oversee the day-to-day operations of each campus library (La Plata, Leonardtown, and Prince Frederick). Library Assistants provide clerical support and other tasks to assist coordinators, circulation staff, and librarians. Circulation staff manage the maintenance of the library’s collections including checking out materials, maintaining the library catalog, facilitating Interlibrary Loan, and shelving returned materials. 

Student Library Assistants

Student assistants work at the front desk of the library. They provide customer service by answering directional or service-related questions, troubleshooting problems, and offering basic assistance with using computers and library resources. They also provide additional support to the library staff and faculty.