Documents the milestones in the fight for LGBTQ equality, from the victories of early activists to the passing of legislation barring discrimination, and the gradual acceptance of the LGBTQ community in politics, sports, culture, and the media. Rare images and documents cover the seminal moments, events, and breakthroughs of the movement, while personal testimonies share the voices of key figures on a broad range of topics.
This book offers students an evidence-based foundation in the interdisciplinary field of LGBTQ Studies. Chapters on history, diversity, dating/relationships, education, sexual health, and globalization reflect current research and thinking in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences.
"The Savvy Ally: A Guide for Becoming a Skilled LGBTQ+ Advocate is an enjoyable, humorous, encouraging, easy to understand guidebook for being an ally
This book is a guide to understanding gender, covering gender identity, expression, sex, and how to use accurate terminology, and how to ask when unsure.
The Stonewall Inn was a gay bar in New York's Greenwich Village. At a little after one a.m. on the morning of June 28, 1969, the police carried out a routine raid on the bar. But it turned out not to be routine at all. Instead of cowering-- the usual reaction to a police raid-- the patrons inside Stonewall and the crowd that gathered outside the bar fought back against the police. The five days of rioting that followed changed forever the face of lesbian and gay life. In the years since 1969, the Stonewall riots have become the central symbolic event of the modern gay movement. Renowned historian and activist Martin Duberman tells the full story of what happened at Stonewall, focusing on the lives of six people involved in the struggle for LGBTQ rights, and recreating in vivid detail those heady, sweltering nights in June 1969, revealing a wealth of previously unknown material.
Legendary Children is a definitive deep-dive into queer history and culture with hit reality show 'RuPaul's Drag Race' as a touchstone. The book centers the idea that Drag Race is the queerest show in the history of television and serves as a museum of LGBTQ cultural and social history, drawing on queer traditions and the work of legendary figures in queer history.
Twenty-five narrative essays by contemporary LGBTQ writers reflecting on queerness in horror film, from Hitchcock to HALLOWEEN.
Ever wonder what "nonbinary" or "gender nonconforming" really means? Why would someone choose to identify that way? And how the heck do you use "they/them" pronouns for a singular person - isn't it supposed to be plural? This charming and disarming guide promises to unpack all these questions and more, with a fun, visual infographic approach
In None of the Above, Travis Alabanza examines seven phrases people have directed at them about their gender identity. These phrases that have stayed with them over the years. Some are deceptively innocuous, some deliberately loaded or offensive, some celebratory; sentences that have impacted them for better and for worse; sentences that speak to the broader issues raised by a world that insists that gender must be a binary. Through these seven phrases, which include some of their most personal transformative experiences as a Black, working-class, non-binary trans person, Travis Alabanza turns a mirror back on society, giving us reason to question the very framework in which we live and the ways we treat each other.
Written by an accomplished teacher with experience in a wide variety of higher learning institutions, this new text inspires readers to explore not only contemporary transgender issues and experiences but also the global history of gender diversity through the ages.
Explores the changing ways that young people are now becoming LGBT-identified in the US. Focuses on the voices and stories of youths themselves in order to show how young people understand their sexual and gender identities, their interest in queer media, and the role that family plays in their lives.
In a series of personal essays, prominent journalist and LGBTQIA+ activist George M. Johnson explores his childhood, adolescence, and college years in New Jersey and Virginia. From the memories of getting his teeth kicked out by bullies at age five, to flea marketing with his loving grandmother, to his first sexual relationships, this young-adult memoir weaves together the trials and triumphs faced by Black queer boys.
Featuring LGBTQ icons from America to Ireland, Britain to New Zealand; Reynolds documents their successes and failures . . . demonstrating the ways in which an individual can change the views and voting behaviors of those around them. The book also includes rare vignettes of LGBTQ leaders in Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean who continue to fight for equality in spite of threats, violence, and homophobia.
Check out these "best bets" databases for finding eBooks!
Includes reference, fiction, and nonfiction eBooks for multiple subjects.
Multidisciplinary collection of eBooks covering a broad range of academic subjects.
Full-text eBooks for multiple subject areas.
Full-text eBooks for multiple subject areas.
eBooks providing concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas. [582 titles]
Additional databases containing eBooks can be found in A-Z Databases by limiting database type to eBooks.