Most databases have a tool that provides citations for sources.
BE CAREFUL though! These automatically generated citations often have minor errors such as incorrect capitalization or other formatting issues. Database-generated citations are a great starting point, but you will need to check them before turning in your assignment.
There are a few methods for saving the sources you find:
PDF Full Text: Download the PDF to save a copy of the full text of the article.
HTML Full Text: Full text of the article is available on the webpage, often with tools to translate or listen to the article. Use the permalink or email tools to return to this page later, or print the page to save a copy (Print to PDF).
Link to Full Text: Some may include a link to an external site that provides access to the full text of the article.
Permalinks are stable URLs that will always link back to the same page. If you are saving a link to get back to a database page for an article, save this one (NOT the one at the top of your screen, as that is a temporary link created during your search).
Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) are unique strings of characters used to identify a specific object (such as a journal article). You may need to include this when citing the source. You can also use the DOI to find an article again, as it works like a barcode or URL.
Use the "email" tool to send the article to yourself. This usually will include a link back to the database's record for that article and may also include the full text PDF as an attachment.
Export options allow you to send information about the source (including links) to NoodleTools and other research management tools (see the "Research Management" tab in this guide for more information). When exporting to NoodleTools, make sure you have logged in to your NoodleTools account before using this tool in the database.
Gather your research before sending it via email or exporting to NoodleTools.
Sign in to your Google account, then perform a search on Google Scholar. Under the article or citation, click "save." In the left column, click on "My library" to view your saved items.
