LibGuides: United States History: Find Websites

Suggested Websites

Teaching History (National History Education Clearinghouse)
Funded by the U.S. Department of Education, this resource provides access to resources and materials for K-12 history teachers.
Histories of the National Mall
Developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University, this resource is a website easily accessible by mobile phones that provides content and interpretation about the National Mall.
Southern Maryland Studies Center (SMSC) Resources
See a full list of links to regional and state resources for local history and genealogy.
Mapping Early American Elections
Developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University, this resources provides interactive maps and tables of U.S. congressional elections during the First Party System, contextual essays, open access data, and tutorials.

Primary Sources

ArchiveGrid
"ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies."
Internet Sites with Primary Sources for U.S. History
Guide from BGSU's University Libraries with links categorized by century, state, and region.
Internet Modern History Sourcebook
Includes many sections on the US and other relevant topics.
American History Digital Collections (Library of Congress)
See digitized primary sources from the American History collection at the Library of Congress.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress)
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
National Archives
Legal and historical documents and materials from the National Archives and Records Administration.
Records of Rights (National Archives)
This perminent online exhibition displays primary sources to tell the "ongoing struggle of Americans to define, attain and protect their rights.
Archives of American Art (Smithsonian)
The Archives of American Art is the world’s preeminent and most widely used research center dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America.
September 11 Digital Archive
Organized by the American Social History Project (City University of New York Graduate Center) and the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media (George Mason University), this archive records and preserves the record of 9/11 through first-hand accounts, electronic communications, photographs, artworks, and other digital materials.

Making of America (MoA) This link opens in a new window
Making of America is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Subjects include education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.

Finding Credible Websites

What is it?

What kind of information does the website include or exclude?

Verified Facts / Objective (overviews, summaries, articles…)
Opinions / Subjective (blogs, forum posts, social media content…)

Who made it?

Who created the website? Who maintains it? What are their motives?

Look for pages titled:

“About” or “About Us” or “Our Staff”
“Mission” or “Learn More”
“Contact Us”

Why is it useful?

When was the website published/last updated?

Watch out for:

Money Solicitation (such as excessive pop-ups asking for donations)
Information presented as “facts” without providing evidence or verification
Bias

Need more help? Ask a librarian!

library@csmd.edu

United States History

Contact Us

Ask a Librarian:

Library@csmd.edu

Suggested Websites

Primary Sources

Finding Credible Websites

Finding Credible Websites

What is it?

Who made it?

Why is it useful?

Watch out for:

Need more help? Ask a librarian!