LibGuides: United States History: Civil War

National Archives & Library of Congress

National Archives: Milestone Documents
Includes documents related to the Civil War and Reconstruction eras, such as compromises, acts, and landmark court cases.
Research Guides: Primary Documents in American History
Library of Congress (LOC) guides for many topics from American history, including primary sources and other information.
Articles of Confederation (LOC Guide)
Compromise of 1850 (LOC Guide)
Dred Scot v. Sandford (LOC Guide)
Emancipation Proclamation (LOC Guide)
Gettysburg Address (LOC Guide)
Kansas-Nebraska Act (LOC Guide)
Missouri Compromise (LOC Guide)

Internet History Sourcebooks

Modern History: US Civil War
Links to primary sources related to the American Civil War and the conflict over slavery.

Noteworthy sources linked in the US Civil War sourcebook:

John C. Calhoun: The Southern Address, 1849
William Henry Seward: "Higher Law" Speech, 1850
Secession Era Editorials Project
Making of America archive
Civil War and Reconstruction: Primary Sources (from LoneStar College)
Civil War on the Western Border: The Missouri-Kansas Conflict 1854-1865

Statutes of the United States Concerning Slavery, 1794-1850 (The Avalon Project)
Primary source documents, from the Avalon Project hosted by Yale.
Confederate States of America: Documents (The Avalon Project)
Primary source documents, from the Avalon Project hosted by Yale.

Virginia Military Institute Archives: Civil War Manuscripts

This archive includes a wide range of primary source documents, many of which are available digitally (as scanned images and/or transcripts from the original documents).

United States History

Contact Us

Ask a Librarian:

Library@csmd.edu

National Archives & Library of Congress

Internet History Sourcebooks

Virginia Military Institute Archives: Civil War Manuscripts

Types of Primary Sources

States

Civil War categories