LibGuides: POL 1010: Find Books & eBooks

Finding Books and eBooks

When searching for eBooks, you can use many of the same strategies as you use for finding articles. You can also search using a title, author, or other publication information.

eBooks on U.S. Government (E-Journal Portal)
List of U.S. government eBooks available in CSM's databases.
eBooks on U.S. Executive Branch (E-Journal Portal)
List of government and politics eBooks about the U.S. Executive Branch available in CSM's databases.
eBooks on U.S. Legislative Branch (E-Journal Portal)
List of government and politics eBooks about the U.S. Legislative Branch available in CSM's databases.

American Governance by Stephen Schechter (Editor); Thomas A. Birkland (Editor); Mark A. Graber (Editor); John J. Patrick (Editor); Thomas S. Vontz (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016
Find answers in American Governance on all questions related to the variety of ways by which the American people govern themselves - from their constitutions and governments to the political norms and ideals that guide their actions as citizens and leaders; to local communities, civic associations, and political associations people form for collective deliberation and action; and to the relationships they form with their elected representatives.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History by Michael Kazin (Editor); Rebecca Edwards (Editor); Adam Rothman (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010
Covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today. Addresses both the traditional topics of political history--such as eras, institutions, political parties, presidents, and founding documents---and the wider subjects of current scholarship, including military, electoral, and economic events, as well as social movements, popular culture, religion, education, race, gender, and more.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Political and Legal History by Donald T. Critchlow (Editor-In-Chief); Philip R. VanderMeer (Editor-In-Chief); Paul Boyer (Series edited by)
Publication Date: 2013
Provides comprehensive coverage of political and legal history in the United States, covering for the first time in one reference work the key events, historical actors, presidential elections, court cases, and larger political and legal trends throughout American history.
The Oxford Companion to American Politics by David Coates (Editor-In-Chief); Kathy Smith; Will (C. William) Walldorf
Publication Date: 2012
Provides detailed, in-depth coverage of all aspects of American politics including topics such as climate change, terrorism, welfare policies, nuclear proliferation, voting behavior, and think tanks.
Encyclopedia of the Continental Congress by Mark Grossman (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015
This title examines the in-depth history of the first Continental Congress in 1774 and the first Federal Congress in 1789. Coverage dives into the impact and role in the shaping and foundation of early American Society and government.

In the library, browse books related to American Government using call numbers that start with:

E 151 - E 889 : History of the United States
J 80 - J 87 : United States Legislative & Executive Papers
JK : Political Institutions & Public Administration of the United States
- JK 501 - JK 868 : Executive Branch
- JK 1012 - JK 1432 : Legislative Branch (Congress)
  - JK 1154 - JK 1276 : Senate
  - JK 1308 - JK 1432 : House of Representatives
- JK 1758 - JK 1761 : Citizenship
- JK 1846 - JK 1929 : Suffrage
- JK 1965 - JK 2217 : Electoral System
- JK 2255 - JK 2391 : Political Parties
JS 300 - JS 1583 : Local & Municipal Government - United States
JV 6403 - JV 7127 : Emigration & Immigration - United States
KF : Law of the United States
- KF 1 - KF 9827 : Federal Law
ZA 5049 - ZA 5190 : Government Information

Find books related to intersecting topics using call numbers that start with:

CT 610 - CT 3150 : National Biography
HJ 2240 - HJ 5908 : Revenue & Taxation (Public Finance)
HV : Social & Public Welfare
- HV 40 - HV 69 : Social Service, Social Work, & Charity
- HV 697 - HV 4959 : Protection, Assistance, & Relief of Specific Classes
  - HV 701 - HV 1420.5 : Children
  - HV 1442 - HV 1448 : Women
  - HV 1449 : LGBTQ+
  - HV 1551 - HV 3024 : People with Disabilities
  - HV 4005 - HV 4013 : Immigrants
  - HV 4023 - HV 4630 : Poverty & Homelessness
- HV 6251 - HV 6773.55 : Crimes & Offenses
- HV 7231 - HV 9960 : Criminal Justice Administration
  - HV 7435 - HV 7439 : Gun Control
  - HV 7551 - HV 8280.7 : Police
  - HV 8301 - HV 9920.7 : Prisons & Corrections
L : Education
- LA 201 - LA 398 : History of Education in the United States
- LC 59 : Public School Education
- LC 71 - LC 120.4 : Education and the State
- LJ : Student Fraternities & Societies in the U.S.
UB : Military Administration
VA 49 - VA 395 : United State Navy
VB : Naval Administration
Z 1215 - Z 1363 : United States National Bibliography

eBook Collections

Check out these "best bets" databases for finding eBooks!

eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes reference, fiction, and nonfiction eBooks for multiple subjects.
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of eBooks covering a broad range of academic subjects.
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text eBooks for multiple subject areas.
Academic Complete (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text eBooks for multiple subject areas.
Oxford Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
eBooks providing concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas. [582 titles]

Additional databases containing eBooks can be found in A-Z Databases by limiting database type to eBooks.

Library Books

CSM Library Catalog
Search for books, audiobooks, videos, and music.
How to Search the CSM Library Catalog
Includes directions for requesting books.
Interlibrary Loan
Request books and articles that CSM Library does not own.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search library collections in your community and around the world.

Public Libraries

If you live in Maryland, you can access many resources through your local public library - including eBooks! Public libraries will likely have more variety if you are looking for fiction, and can be helpful to supplement the nonfiction and educational eBooks provided by CSM Libraries.

Charles County Public Library
Information about downloadable books, music, and magazines at CCPL.
Calvert Library
Information about eBook options from Calvert Library.
St. Mary's County Library
Information about eBooks and Audiobooks from the St. Mary's County Library.
COSMOS (Collection of Southern Maryland's Online Services)
Information about downloadable materials (including eBooks and audiobooks) from Southern Maryland's library consortium, which includes resources from Calvert, Charles, and St. Mary's libraries.
Maryland Digital eLibrary Consortium (Overdrive)
Find eBooks and audiobooks on Overdrive/Libby, an eBook platform that provides access to COSMOS collections.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search library collections in your community and around the world.

Publicly Available eBook Resources

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
Index and free access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed books.
Open Library (Internet Archive)
Open and editable library catalog with a goal to create one web page for every book ever published. Includes links to access free books (in the public domain) and to borrow books from the Internet Archive's digital collections.
Free books available from Google Books
Over 10 million free books in the Google Books search platform, available to read or download (PDF or EPUB).
Project Gutenberg
Over 60,000 free eBooks (available to read online or download EPUBs or Kindle eBooks). Includes classic literature and other sources in the public domain.
ManyBooks
Access to many free eBooks (including more recent bestsellers), with other eBooks available for discounted prices.
LibriVox
Free public domain audiobooks.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Provides access to millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country.

POL 1010

Contact Us

Ask a Librarian:

Library@csmd.edu

Finding Books and eBooks

eBook Collections

Library Books

Public Libraries

Publicly Available eBook Resources