Skip to Main Content

Open Educational Resources

Learn more about OER and how to find, create, modify, and use it.

Library Database Sources as Course Materials

Consider filling in some of the gaps by using library resources, such as e-books and articles.

Licensed e-books, online magazines & journals, streaming media, and other online resources available through the CSM Library subscriptions (i.e. ProQuest, EBSCO, Gale, etc.) are not considered Open Educational Resources. These resources are restricted to CSM students, faculty and staff, and they are already-licensed materials that do not allow for customization and re-use or redistribution the same way as OERs. Although library online resources are not "open", they are considered "alternative educational resources" (AER) that you can take advantage of and make available at no cost to your students. Library resources are also sometimes referred to as LER, which stands for licensed/library educational resources.

  • AER = alternative educational resources
  • LER = licensed/library educational resources
  • OER = open educational resources

Linking to Library Database Sources

If you would like to add specific articles or book chapters from the databases to the assigned reading for a course, you can add a specific type of link into your syllabus, class schedule, or course shell to allow students to access the source.

Any links to database sources need to fit two criteria:

  1. The link is stable URL ("permanent link" or "permalink").
  2. The link includes a proxy string (an addition that will prompt students to log in through myCSMD so they can be properly "logged in" when going into database resources).

Stable URLs

These links can be found for sources in each of the library databases, but may be called something different by each database provider.

Icons for permanent links in ProQuest, EBSCO, and Gale.

ProQuest

Click "All Options" to see and copy the permanent link.

EBSCO

Click "Permalink" (under "Tools" on the right side of the page) then copy the link that appears above the article title.

Gale

Click "Get Link" (at the top of the page below the header image) and copy the link.

CREDO Reference

After selecting your source, click "Page Link" (at the top of the page) and copy the link.

Oxford Reference

Click the "+" icon (at the top of the page on the right, above the title) and select "More."

Tools in the Oxford Reference Database

This will open options for sharing, with the link at the top of the box.

"Share" options in the Oxford Reference database

Infobase Academic eBooks

Click "Embed/Link" (towards the top of the page, underneath the title) then copy the record URL, or you can copy the embed code to add to MyLearning.

 

Proxy

If the link you copied from the database does not include "exproxy.csmd.edu/login" anywhere in the link, you will need to add the following proxy prefix BEFORE the database link:

https://ezproxy.csmd.edu/login?url=