This database is worth a look ... it offers current, peer-reviewed resources from top journals in the Social sciences. Social Science researchers often cite journal articles that have empirical research. The hallmark of empirical research is original results. Avoid journal articles or studies that review research or literature. A quick way to narrow to empirical research is "case study" in advance search. Advance search is available in ProQuest and EBSCO databases.
Academic Search is a good all around database. It has a ton of content including peer-review sources. One can do a preliminary search on a topic to see what current research there is or what potential sources there are.
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
Books provide in-depth information on a topic. Not a finding a book on your topic? Use a book’s index to find pages that discuss your topic or scan the table of contents for book chapters. The best part about eBooks most support keyword searching so you can quickly identify the most important parts of an ebook.
Look for this database at the bottom of the EBSCOhost Choose Database list
Encyclopedias are credible academic sources you can use at every stage of research. Get an overview of an unfamiliar topic, find a bibliography of important sources and gather more in-depth information. Go beyond Wikipedia start with reference databases from the library.
Credo Reference is a "Professor Approved" alternative to Wikipedia. It has tons of encyclopedia articles that can help you understand your research topic! Credo Reference also offers journal article links to library databases like ProQuest and Ebsco. Note - Credo can only be accessed on-campus!