LibGuides: Southern Maryland Studies Center Research: SMSC Resources

SMSC Resources

SMSC Resources
Access SMSC and CSM resources along with other web resources from affiliated, regional, state, and local institutions.

ArchivesSpace This link opens in a new window
ArchivesSpace is a database that contains descriptive information about the contents of our archival collections. The database is completely text searchable, and you can also search by name, subject, or other identifiers.

Archival Finding Aids
Please browse our finding aids for descriptions of the Archival & Manuscript Collections, Genealogical Research Collections, Oral History Collections, and Photographic Collections. Archival materials are non-circulating and must be viewed onsite.
SMSC Online Collections Catalog
View exhibit pages for SMSC collections.
Stories of Southern Maryland (NEH funded project)
Funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities, SMSC's "Stories of Southern Maryland" project transcribed 40 oral history interviews documenting the history and culture of Southern Maryland.

CSM Library Catalog
Any item that has an "Md" in front of the call number is part of the Maryland Collection. All of the Maryland Collection and Archives materials are non-circulating, but there are additional circulating copies of some Maryland Collection books located in the main College library. The Maryland Collection stacks are next to the College Library’s reference books. Some of the books in the Maryland Collection are considered Rare Books. They are kept within our documents room and can be accessed with the help of the archivist.
Interlibrary Loan
Request books and articles that CSM Library does not own.

Ancestry (Library Edition) This link opens in a new window
Search over 4,000 databases and find U.S. Census records, military records, land and probate records, vital and church records, directories, passenger lists, and more.
HeritageQuest Online This link opens in a new window
Search research materials for tracing family history and American culture.

African American History Resources
This resource guide provides information on a variety of materials available to interested scholars and the general public concerning African American history from the colonial period to the mid-twentieth century.
Environment Studies Resources
This resource guide provides information on a variety of materials available to anyone interested in environmental studies.
Genealogical Resources by County
This resource guide provides information on a variety of materials available to anyone interested in genealogical research in Southern Maryland.
Historic Preservation
This resource guide provides information on a variety of materials available to anyone interested in the practical aspects of preserving old buildings, cemeteries, and historic landscapes including architecture, preservation, restoration, identification and researching a building or landscape’s history.
Microfilm Holdings
Types of records include population census, agricultural census, wills, land records, court records, church records, marriage, and tax assessments.
Women's Studies Resources
This resource guide provides information on a variety of materials available to anyone interested in women’s studies in history.
Vertical File Holdings
List of topics available in the vertical files.