Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Help

This guide will help you at all stages of the research process, from choosing a topic to citing your sources.

Saving your Sources

There are a few methods for saving the sources you find:

Download Full Text

PDF Full Text: Download the PDF to save a copy of the full text of the article.

HTML Full Text: Full text of the article is available on the webpage, often with tools to translate or listen to the article. Use the permalink or email tools to return to this page later, or print the page to save a copy (Print to PDF).

Link to Full Text: Some may include a link to an external site that provides access to the full text of the article.

Icons for downloading, printing, or viewing full text in ProQuest, EBSCO, and Gale.

Permalinks

Permalinks are stable URLs that will always link back to the same page. If you are saving a link to get back to a database page for an article, save this one (NOT the one at the top of your screen, as that is a temporary link creating during your search).

Icons in ProQuest, EBSCO, and Gale for permanent URLs.

DOIs

Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) are unique strings of characters used to identify a specific object (such as a journal article). You may need to include this when citing the source. You can also use the DOI to find an article again, as it works like a barcode or URL.

Email

Use the "email" tool to send the article to yourself. This usually will include a link back to the database's record for that article and may also include the full text PDF as an attachment.

Icons for emailing an article or record in ProQuest, EBSCO, and Gale.

Export to...

Export options allow you to send information about the source (including links) to NoodleTools and other research management tools (see below for more information).

Icons for exporting to NoodleTools in ProQuest, EBSCO, and Gale

Personal Accounts in the library databases

Databases often have an option to create a "personal account" that allows you to gather and save your research. These accounts are NOT managed by CSM. However, it may be helpful to use your CSM email and password when creating the account to help you remember your log in information. If you forget your login or have any trouble with you personal account, you will need to contact the database (ProQuest or EBSCO) directly.

Icons for adding to a folder in database accounts in ProQuest and EBSCO.Icons for saving to My Research account in ProQuest.

Saving Sources in Google Scholar

Sign in to your Google account, then perform a search on Google Scholar. Under the article or citation, click "save." In the left column, click on "My library" to view your saved items.

Screenshot of a Google Scholar search for "herding cats", with Save and My Library options circled.