Primary Sources

The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts (primary sources) presented for educational use. There are sourcebooks available for specific time periods, locations, demographics, and topics.

See digitized primary sources from the Library of Congress. Limit your search by topic, format, or collection.

The New York Public Library's Digital Collections include hundreds of thousands of materials (prints, photos, maps, manuscripts, video, etc.) that are in the public domain.

The New York Public Library's archival and manuscript collections preserve evidence of human activity and achievement that forms a basis for the study of political, social, economic, and cultural history. Collections span across a wide range of topics with a variety of materials.

Guide from BGSU's University Libraries with links categorized by century, state, and region.

The Archives of American Art is the world’s preeminent and most widely used research center dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America.

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Legal and historical documents and materials from the National Archives and Records Administration.

This perminent online exhibition displays primary sources to tell the "ongoing struggle of Americans to define, attain and protect their rights.

Collection of documents related European history from Prehistory Europe through Renaissance Europe.

A collection of primary source documents from different geographical regions and time periods.

Collections of primary source documents related to law and diplomacy from governments and nation-states around the world. This collection encompasses multiple time periods.

Sourcebook by George Mason University