LibGuides: COM 1350: Find Articles

Suggested Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, indexing, and abstracts related to communication, mass media, and related fields of study.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database (covering most subjects) including scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and other sources.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Information about current social issues from topic overviews, news, opinions, pro/con essays, and other sources.
SIRS Issues Researcher (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Editorially curated pro/con database featuring overviews, essential questions, viewpoints, primary sources, and secondary sources about social issues.
CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
Search over 600 full text reference books for your topic. It also has article links to library databases (such as ProQuest and EBSCO).
Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary subject coverage from scholarly, trade, and consumer publications.

News Sources

US Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format
International Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
International news sources (outside of U.S. and Canada).
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Includes business, law, and news sources.

Finding Full Text

Hitting a paywall? Don't buy articles!

If you find an article online but can’t access the full text, you can check to the E-Journal Finder to see if it is available through the library databases, search in Google Scholar, or request a copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan.

Google Scholar
There may be a free PDF with the full text of the article and/or different “versions” of the article. Some universities have institutional repositories where scholars can upload a copy of their research. Authors may also expand an article they wrote into a chapter for an edited book or share pre-print copies of the article.
E-Journal Portal
Search by journal or periodical title to see if full text is available in any of our library databases.
Interlibrary Loan
Request articles that do not have full text in the library databases.

COM 1350

Contact Us

Ask a Librarian:

Library@csmd.edu

Suggested Databases

News Sources

Finding Full Text