Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literary & Film Criticism

This guide provides information about how to find literary criticism and film criticism.

Publicly Available Resources

Google Scholar

Use the same types of search terms that you would use in the library database. For example:

  • Title
    • "Pride and Prejudice"
  • Author
    • Jane Austen
  • Theory or type of criticism
    • "Feminist criticism"
    • "Marxist theory"
  • Keywords related to a theme, character, plot point, etc.
    • Darcy
    • Social class
    • Marriage

Search Results

Google Scholar search results page

The search results page includes:

  • Left: options for limiting by source type or publication dates and sorting results
  • Center: results including options for saving or citing a source, seeing related articles or sources that cite that source, and "versions" of the article.
  • Right Column: links to the full text of the source (often a PDF)

If there is not a PDF available:

  • Look at the other "versions" of the article to see if the full text is available there. Some articles may have been published in multiple places or formats.
  • Request the article via Interlibrary Loan.

JSTOR

CSM does not have a subscription to JSTOR, a database that includes more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

However, you can still use this database as a resource for:

  • Free articles (open access sources)
  • "Free reads" with a personal account
  • Finding articles that you can request via Interlibrary Loan (ILL)