Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sociology

Search for e-Journals by Title

Browse e-Journals by Subject

Browse e-Journal Titles

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Other

A selected list of Sociology Journals in CSM libraries’ databases

Use the search widget above to locate journals in library databases

 

American Sociological Review

American Sociological Review (ASR) is the American Sociological Association’s flagship journal. The ASA founded this journal in 1936 with the mission to publish original works of interest to the discipline of sociology in general, new theoretical developments, results of research that advance understanding of fundamental social processes, and important methodological innovations.

American Journal of Sociology

Established in 1895 as the first U.S. scholarly journal in its field, the American Journal of Sociology remains a leading voice for analysis and research in the social sciences. The Sociology Department collectively publishes the journal, which presents path breaking work from all areas of sociology, with an emphasis on theory building and innovative methods.

Gender and Development

Since 1993, Gender & Development has aimed to promote, inspire, and support development policy and practice, which furthers the goal of equality between women and men. Each issue of Gender & Development focuses on a topic of key interest to all involved in promoting gender equality through development.

Work and Occupations

Work and Occupations has published rigorous social science research on the human dynamics of the workplace, employment, and society from an international, interdisciplinary perspective. Work and Occupations provides a broad perspective on the workplace, examining international approaches to work-related issues as well as insights from scholars in a variety of fields, including: anthropology, demography, education, government administration, history, industrial relations, labor economics, management, psychology, and sociology.

Sociology of Education

Sociology of Education (SOE) provides a forum for studies in the sociology of education and human social development. SOE publishes research that examines how social institutions and individuals’ experiences within these institutions affect educational processes and social development. Such research may span various levels of analysis, ranging from the individual to the structure of relations among social and educational institutions. In an increasingly complex society, important educational issues arise throughout the life cycle.

Sex Roles: A Journal of Research

Sex Roles: A Journal of Research is a global, multidisciplinary, scholarly, social and behavioral science journal with a feminist perspective. It publishes original research reports as well as original theoretical papers and conceptual review articles that explore how gender organizes people’s lives and their surrounding worlds, including gender identities, belief systems, representations, interactions, relations, organizations, institutions, and statuses.

Qualitative Sociology

The journal Qualitative Sociology is dedicated to the qualitative interpretation and analysis of social life. The journal offers both theoretical and analytical research, and publishes manuscripts based on research methods such as interviewing, participant observation, ethnography, historical analysis, content analysis and others which do not rely primarily on numerical data.

Gender and Society

Gender & Society promotes feminist scholarship and the social scientific study of gender. Gender & Society publishes theoretically engaged and methodologically rigorous articles that make original contributions to gender theory. The journal takes a multidisciplinary, intersectional, and global approach to gender analysis. Articles appearing in Gender & Society analyze gender and gendered processes in interactions, organizations, societies, and global and transnational spaces.

Journal of Marriage and Family

Journal of Marriage and Family (JMF) has been a leading research journal in the family field. JMF features original research and theory, research interpretation and reviews, and critical discussion concerning all aspects of marriage, other forms of close relationships, and families.

Sociological Quarterly

The Sociological Quarterly is devoted to publishing cutting-edge research and theory in all areas of sociological inquiry. We look for articles that advance the discipline and reach the widest possible audience. Our focus is on publishing the best theoretically-informed empirical sociology. Since 1960, the contributors, peer-reviewers, advisory editors, and readers of The Sociological Quarterly have made it one of the leading generalist journals in the field.

Sociological Forum

Sociological Forum is the flagship journal of the Eastern Sociological Society. The journal is peer reviewed and committed to publishing high quality research on substantive issues of fundamental importance to the study of society. The journal’s mission is broad in scope, encompassing empirical works (both quantitative and qualitative), as well as works that develop theories, concepts or methodological strategies.

Monthly Labor Review

Monthly Labor Review (MLR) is the principal journal of fact, analysis, and research from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), an agency within the U.S. Department of Labor. Subjects include the labor force, the economy, employment, inflation, productivity, occupational injuries and illnesses, wages, prices, and more.

Journal of Latin American Studies

Journal of Latin American Studies presents recent research in the field of Latin American studies in development studies, economics, geography, history, politics and international relations, public policy, sociology and social anthropology.

Social Forces

Social Forces publishes articles of interest to a general social science audience and emphasizes cutting-edge sociological inquiry as well as explores realms the discipline shares with psychology, anthropology, political science, history, and economics.

Journal of American Studies

Journal of American Studies seeks to critique and interrogate the notion of "America", pursuing this through international perspectives on the history, literature, politics and culture of the United States. The Journal publishes works by scholars from all over the world on American literature, history, institutions, politics, economics, film, popular culture, geography and related subjects in domestic, continental, hemispheric, and global contexts.

Ageing and Society

Ageing & Society is an interdisciplinary and international journal devoted to the understanding of human ageing and the circumstances of older people in their social and cultural contexts. It draws contributions and has readers from many disciplines including gerontology, sociology, demography, psychology, economics, medicine, social policy and the humanities.

American Anthropologist

American Anthropologist is the flagship journal of the American Anthropological Association, reaching well over 12,000 readers with each issue. The journal advances the Association's mission through publishing articles that add to, integrate, synthesize, and interpret anthropological knowledge; commentaries and essays on issues of importance to the discipline; and reviews of books, films, sound recordings and exhibits.

Families in Society

Families in Society focuses on the broad array of issues that relate to the capabilities of individuals, families, and communities, including consideration of the various biopsychosocial, economic, and cultural factors that affect functioning and well-being.

Family Relations

The journal's content emphasizes family research with implications for intervention, education, and public policy, publishing: Empirical Studies, Literature Reviews, and Conceptual Analyzes.

International Labor Review

The International Labor Review is the world’s leading multidisciplinary journal of labor market institutions and economics. Its aim is to advance academic research and inform policy debate and decision-making in these fields by bringing together the original thinking of lawyers, economists, sociologists, and political scientists and industrial relations specialists on a broad range of labor market policy and social protection concerns.

Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society

Recognized as the leading international journal in women’s studies, Signs is at the forefront of new directions in feminist scholarship. The journal publishes path breaking articles, review essays, comparative perspectives, and retrospectives of interdisciplinary interest addressing gender, race, culture, class, nation, and sexuality

Women’s Studies

Women’s Studies provides a forum for the presentation of scholarship and criticism about women in the fields of literature, history, art, sociology, law, political science, economics, anthropology and the sciences.

Journal of Popular Culture

The popular culture movement was founded on the principle that the perspectives and experiences of common folk offer compelling insights into the social world.  The fabric of human social life is not merely the art deemed worthy to hang in museums, the books that have won literary prizes or been named “classics,” or the religious and social ceremonies carried out by societies’ elite.  The Journal of Popular Culture continues to break down the barriers between so-called “low” and “high” culture and focuses on filling in the gaps that a neglect of popular culture has left in our understanding of the workings of society.

Annual Review of Sociology

The Annual Review of Sociology, in publication since 1975, covers the significant developments in the field of sociology. Topics covered in the journal include major theoretical and methodological developments as well as current research in the major subfields.

Black Scholar

The Black Scholar (TBS) is the first modern black studies and research journal. It was founded on the premise that black writers, scholars, activists and artists could participate in dialogue within its pages. TBS' primary mission has been to chronicle, analyze and debate the conditions of and the emancipatory efforts by black people, against a multitude of oppressions that include and cross class, nationality, gender, generation, sexuality, and ideology.

Harvard Educational Relations

The Harvard Educational Review is a scholarly journal of opinion and research in education. It provides an interdisciplinary forum for discussion and debate about the field's most vital issues.

Social Psychology Quarterly

Social Psychology Quarterly (SPQ) publishes theoretical and empirical papers on the link between the individual and society. This includes the study of the relations of individuals to one another, as well as to groups, collectivities, and institutions. It also includes the study of intra-individual processes as they substantially influence, or are influenced by, social structure and process.

Critical Sociology

Critical Sociology is an international peer reviewed journal that publishes the highest quality original research. The journal seeks to engage and promote critical thinking by publishing articles from all perspectives broadly defined as falling within the boundaries of critical or radical social science.

Technology and Culture

Technology and Culture, the preeminent journal of the history of technology, draws on scholarship in diverse disciplines to publish insightful pieces intended for general readers as well as specialists.