Alternate Page for Screenreader Users

Research Guides - Jeffrey Potter

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Jeffrey Potter
Contact Info:
Prince Frederick Campus Reference Desk: (443) 550-6061
Email: jpotter1@csmd.edu
Need help?
A Reference Librarian can save you time! Have Questions! Send an email.

Guides

African-American History
by Jeffrey Potter - Last Updated May 2, 2013
This guide provides information on a variety of books, manuscript collections, and other materials available at the Southern Maryland Studies Center concerning African-American history from the Colonial Era through the mid-20th Century.
Tags: african-american, archives, local_history, southern_maryland
Art 1030
by Jeffrey Potter - Last Updated Feb 26, 2013
Tags: art, art_appreciation, art_history
Computer Sciences
by Jeffrey Potter - Last Updated Jul 27, 2012
ECN_1010_Fehr
by Jeffrey Potter - Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
Tags: business, economics
Economics 1015
by Jeffrey Potter - Last Updated Dec 10, 2012
Tags: business, commerce, company, economics, industry
English 1010
by Jeffrey Potter - Last Updated Aug 7, 2012
The guide is a collection of materials and research tips ENG 1010 students can use to complete research assignments
Tags: english_literature, mla, newspapers, periodicals, search_help, writers
Environmental
by Jeffrey Potter - Last Updated May 2, 2013
Information on environmental studies in the area.
Tags: archives, environmental_conditions, local_history, southern_maryland
Family Studies
by Jeffrey Potter - Last Updated Jul 24, 2012
Men's studies
by Jeffrey Potter - Last Updated Jul 30, 2012
Tags: men, psychology, social_conditions, sociology
Microfilm
by Jeffrey Potter - Last Updated May 2, 2013
Southern Maryland records on microfilm are housed in the black, five-drawer cabinet located at the back of the SMSC Reading Room.
Tags: archives
Nursing
by Jeffrey Potter - Last Updated Jul 31, 2012
Tags: health_sciences, medicine, nurses, nursing
Rapid Research: Create a research question
by Jeffrey Potter, Amanda VerMeulen - Last Updated Jul 12, 2012
This guide provides helpful information related to creating research questions and developing research questions from researchable topics.
Tags: research_questions, research_topics
Rapid Research: General tips
by Jeffrey Potter, Amanda VerMeulen - Last Updated Jun 17, 2013
Getting started with your research assignment use this guide
Tags: background_info, citations, finding_materials, reference_sources, research_questions, research_tips, research_topics, search_help
Rapid Research: Google
by Jeffrey Potter, Amanda VerMeulen - Last Updated Dec 4, 2012
Search tips and uses of Google scholar and Google books in research assignments
Tags: google, google_books, google_scholar, research_tips, search_help
Rapid Research: How to Read a Scholarly Article
by Jeffrey Potter, Amanda VerMeulen - Last Updated Jul 12, 2012
Trouble understanding an article, identifying information or evaluating claims or ideas. This is the guide you need to use.
Tags: article_citation, book_citation, citations, literary_criticism, reference_faq, reference_sources, research_notes, research_tips, scholarly_articles, source_evaluation, website_evaluation
Rapid Research: How_to
by Jeffrey Potter, Amanda VerMeulen - Last Updated Nov 8, 2012
Common Research & Library tasks in short PowerPoint presentations
Tags: citations, how_to, research_questions, research_tips, research_topics, scholarly_materials, search_help, tutorials
Rapid Research: Librarian research notes
by Jeffrey Potter, Amanda VerMeulen - Last Updated Jan 29, 2013
This guide will store lecture notes or power point slides from class presentations and related activities
Tags: reference_faq, research_notes, research_tips, search_help
Rapid Research: MLA and APA Citations
by Jeffrey Potter - Last Updated Apr 29, 2013
This guide is intended to help you create citations for a list of works cited or reference lists.
Tags: apa, article_citation, book_citation, citations, mla
Rapid Research: Source evaluation
by Jeffrey Potter, Amanda VerMeulen - Last Updated Jul 12, 2012
Methods used to evaluate research sources
Tags: source_evaluation, website_evaluation, websites
Rapid Research: Wikipedia
by Jeffrey Potter, Amanda VerMeulen - Last Updated Dec 19, 2012
Think of Wikipedia as a SPRINGBROAD for your research
Tags: reference_faq, reference_sources, research_tips, scholarly_materials, search_help
Rapid Research:Research Notes
by Jeffrey Potter, Amanda VerMeulen - Last Updated Aug 1, 2012
Useful tips for recording important information from research materials
Tags: article_citation, book_citation, citations, finding_materials, research_notes, research_tips, source_evaluation
Southern Maryland Native Americans
by Jeffrey Potter - Last Updated May 2, 2013
Resources that are located in the Southern Maryland Studies Center that pertains to the Native American in our area.
Tags: archives, local_history, native_americans, southern_maryland
Women's Studies in Southern Maryland
by Jeffrey Potter - Last Updated May 2, 2013
Notable women of Southern Maryland.
Tags: archives, women

Office Hours

Monday 8:00am- 5:00pm
Tuesday 8:00am- 5:00pm
Wednesday 8:00am- 5:00pm
Thursday 8:00am- 5:00pm
Friday 8:00am- 5:00pm
 

Research Consulations

During the appointment, you will

receive one-on-one instruction from a

reference librarian, individualized to your topic. 

 You can get assistance with:

Developing an effective search strategy for your research paper or presentation.

Finding databases that relate to your subject.

Choosing search terms.

Consultations are available 8 am to 5pm daily Monday--Friday. Other times by appointment

Call: (443) 550-6061

Email: jpotter1@csmd.edu   

 
 
Description

  Loading...