Skip to main content

College of Southern Maryland Dr. Elaine Ryan Library Archives

Dr. Elaine Ryan Library Archives Hours

Hours

Access to the College of Southern Maryland College Archive is available by appointment.

To make an appointment to view materials, please contact Mary Hickey the Archives Librarian at 301-934-7626 or mary.hickey@csmd.edu.

About the Dr. Elaine Ryan Library Archives

Mission Statement

The permanent records of the College of Southern Maryland document its growth and development from its founding days though the present. They serve as an informational resource for administrative decision making and for other College operations and activities, as well as provide an educational resource for students and scholars. The mission of the Dr. Elaine Ryan Library Archives is to:

  1. Acquire, describe, preserve, organize, and make available the non-current, official records of the College and materials by and about individuals affiliated with the college which have legal, administrative, or historical value.
  2. Provide optimal physical conditions for the care and preservation of the records, by ensuring that the environment of the archives is regulated and that the space is secured. Also the items in the collection shall be properly housed and protected.
  3. Promote and encourage the use of the archives, in order to raise awareness of the College of Southern Maryland’s origins, development and contributions to society.

As part of the College of Southern Maryland, the Dr. Elaine Ryan Library Archives will follow all applicable library policies.

Scope

The Dr. Elaine Ryan Library Archives collects records from the founding of the college to the present.

Using the Materials

  1. Materials in the archives do not circulate
  2. Archival materials may be viewed in the library during hours determined by the library archives staff
  3. Exceptions to this are materials used for displays