Skip to main content

MLA and APA Citations: MLA Works Cited

Use this guide to build citations of resources for a MLA works cited list or an APA reference list

Citation guides

You have a couple of choices when creating a bibliography:

• Use one of the Create-a-Bibliography tools on the CSM library website

• Use Word's References Tab

• Use the citation style manuals: MLA (REF LB 2369.G53 2016)

•Use the citation guides found below

Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab): MLA Formatting and Style Guide

Citation guides

MLA Works Cited Tips

General Rules for MLA Style Bibliographies

  • Bibliography pages should be titled "Works Cited." Title should be centered on the first line and not italicized, underlined, or put in quotes.
  • Bibliography should be double spaced.
  • For each entry, all lines after the first are indented 1/2" (called a "Hanging" indent).
  • The name of the first author of a source is inverted (Lastname, Firstname). All other names of authors of a source are written Firstname Lastname.
  • Entries are alphabatized by author last name.
  • To cite two or more works by the same author(s), give the name(s) in the first entry only. In all following citations use three hyphens in place of the author(s) name(s).
  • For multiple works by the same author(s), arrange the entries alphabetically by title.
  • Capitalize all major words in all titles.
  • Titles of larger works - like books, journals, databases, and websites - are italisized. Titles of parts of works - like chapters, articles, and web pages - are put in quotes.
  • MLA requires a "Medium of Publication." For print sources it is "Print"; for electronic/online sources it is "Web."
  • MLA no longer requires URLs for electronic sources. However, if your professor requires URLs in the citations, place the URL in angled brakets at the end of the citation. <http://example.com> 

REMEMBER!

  • Be sure to check your work against a style guide, such as the Purdue OWL MLA guide, or the MLA Handbook (call number REF LB 2369.G53 2016)!
  • Be sure to use the edition specified by your professor (usually the most recent)! Rules can change from edition to edition!
  • If you have any questions, ask a librarian!

MLA Works Cited - Books

One author

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher Name, Year of Publication. Medium of Publication.

Arnold, Dana. Art History: A Very Short Introduction. New York: Oxford University Press, 2004. Print.

 

Editors / More than one author

Lastname, Firstname, and Firstname Lastname. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher Name, Year of Publication. Medium of Publication.

Larson, Barbara, and Fae Brauer, eds. The Art of Evolution: Darwin, Darwinism, and Visual Culture. Hanover: Dartmouth College Press, 2009. Print.

Note: For a source with more than two authors, list all author names or follow the first with the phrase "et al."; if listing all names, invert the first name, but list the remaining names Firstname Lastname. For books with an editor/editors, put "ed." (for one) or "eds." (for more than one) following a comma after the author's name and before the title. 

 

Essay, article, or chapter in a book

Lastname, Firstname of chapter author. "Title of essay, article, or chapter." Title of Book. Firstname Lastname of Book author or editor. City of Publication: Publisher Name, Year of Publication. Page-Page. Medium of Publication.

West, Shearer. "The New Woman and Feminist Fictions." The Cambridge Companion to the Fin de Siecle. Ed. Gail Marshall. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2007. 24-36. Print.

Note: When citing an essay, article, or chapter in an edited collection or anthology, the author of the essay, article, or chapter is listed first. The editor(s) are listed before the publication information, in the form of Firstname Lastname. The designation of "Ed." or "Eds." comes beween the title of the book as a whole and the editor(s) information. In this case "Ed."/"Eds." is capitalized.

 

Edition other than the first

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. nth ed. City of Publication: Publisher Name, Year of Publication. Medium of Publication.

Kliener, Fred S., and Christin J. Mamiya. Gardener's Art Through the Ages. 12th ed. Belmont: Thomas/Wadworth, 2005. Print.

 

e-Book

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher Name, Year of Publication. Name of Database. Medium of Publication. Day, Mo. Year Accessed.

Buskirk, Martha. Contingent Object of Contemporary Art. Cambridge: MIT Press, 2003. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost). Web. 13, Feb. 2013. 

MLA Works Cited - Articles

From a print journal

Lastname, Firstname. “Title of the Article.” Title ofJournal Volume.Issue (Year): page-page. Medium of Publication.

Baird, Lisa A. "Susan Sontag and Diane Arbus: The Siamese Twins of Photographic Art." Women's Studies 37.8 (2008): 971-86. Print.

 

From an electronic database

Lastname, Firstname. “Title of the Article.” Title of Journal Volume. Issue (Year): page-page. Database name. Medium of Publication. Day, Mo. Year of Access.

Reeve, Charles. "Andy Warhol's Death's and the Assembly Line Autobiography." Biography: An Interdisciplinary Quarterly 34.4 (2011): 657-75. Academic Search Premier. Web. 13, Feb. 2013.

 

From an online scholarly journal

Lastname, Firstname. “Title of the Article.” Title of Journal Volume .Issue (Year): page-page. Medium of Publication. Day, Mo. Year of Access.

Napoli, Maria D. "Short Review of the Relationship Between Videomusic and Art." Journal of Science and Technology of the Arts 4.1 (2012): n. pag. Web. 13, Feb. 2013.

Note: If page numbers are not available, put "n.pag."

MLA Works Cited - Web Sites

Entire web site

Lastname, Firstname. Name of Site. Version Number. Sponser or Publisher, Day, Mo. Year of Creation. Medium of Publication. Day, Mo. Year of Access.

The Getty. J. Paul Getty Trust, n.d. Web. 13, Feb. 2013.

 

Page on a web site

Lastname, Firstname. "Name of Web Page." Name of Site. Version Number. Sponser or Publisher, Day, Mo. Year of Creation. Medium of Publication. Day, Mo. Year of Access.

"Photography: The Wet Collodion Process." The Getty. J. Paul Getty Trust, n.d. Web. 13, Feb. 2013.

Note: If author name or version number is not available, omit those parts. If no sponser or publisher is listed, put "n.p."; if no date of creation is listed, put "n.d."