Skip to main content

COM 1010 - Pfeiffer: Articles & Databases

Library Resources for Speech Communication

Databases - No Fake News!

A library database is an electronic digital warehouse for published materials. Our most common databases contain magazine, newspaper and journal articles. We also have databases of encyclopedias and eBooks.

Library databases are constantly updated with new material.

Databases are highly organized and allow you to search for information on a topic by keyword, subject, author, title, and phrase.

Library databases contain credible materials written by experts in their field and/or the information has been evaluated for accuracy before being published.

Every Database Has:

Databases have different names, subjects, and content, but all of them will have these 3 things:

1. A search box for you to enter keywords. 

2. Ways to refine your search results: for example, by date, scholarly articles only, or journal title. 

3. Ways to manage your research: copy, save, email, print, and choose a citation style. 

Summon Single Search

You can now search for articles, ebooks, and other resources from a single search box!

Try Summon now!

          


Summon
® Service increases the value of Libraries by delivering an unprecedented research experience. More than a single-search box, the service makes collections more discoverable and provides unique ways for users to connect with Librarians. The result is a rich research experience that presents results without bias, increases resource usage, strengthens the Library’s role in the research process, and meets user expectations.

Start with These Databases for Articles

Credo Reference

The professor approved alternative to Wikipedia.

Credo Reference provides access to 3,457,271 full text articles in 832 reference books from 109 publishers. Credo believes that everyone deserves the ability to learn and the opportunity to succeed. Credo promotes knowledge building, problem solving and critical thinking to give people the information skills necessary for success throughout their academic, professional and personal lives. 

From the Credo website:

We currently find ourselves in an era of unprecedented access to Information, however successfully navigating this ocean of data requires a strong foundation of information literacy skills. Unfortunately, the information skills of the average individual are often lacking. For example, 56% of high school graduates don’t know how to do research.1 At the same time, 61% of college students use Wikipedia for research even though just 24% of them believe that it is a trustworthy source.2 This extends beyond the classroom77% of employees feel that finding and using information is an essential part of their everyday work.3 Most surprising of all: nearly a third of all U.S. citizens do not know how to use the Internet! 4

1 Achieve, Inc. (2005). Rising to the challenge: Are high school graduates prepared for college and work? Retrieved from http://www.achieve.org/RisingtotheChallenge
2 McKiel, A.W. (2012). 2011 Global student e-book survey. Retrieved from http://site.ebrary.com/lib/surveys/docDetail.action?docID=80076107

3 Travis, T. (2011) From the classroom to the boardroom: The impact of information literacy instruction on workplace research skills. Education Libraries, 34. Retrieved from http://units.sla.org/division/ded/educationlibraries/34-2.pdf

4 United States Department of Commerce. (2011). Fact sheet: Digital literacy. Retrieved from http://www.commerce.gov/news/fact-sheets/2011/05/13/fact-sheet-digital-literacy

Images

Britannica ImageQuest Millions of rights-cleared images from one trusted site. (Available On Campus Only)

Humanoid robots, artwork. Photography. Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest.
Accessed Mar 28, 2017. 
http://quest.eb.com/search/132_1213489/1/132_1213489/cite.

ProQuest, EBSCO and Gale Off-Campus