Skip to main content

RDG 0800 Analytic Reading and Reasoning: Articles & Databases

General Guide to Library Resources

Databases - No Fake News!

A library database is an electronic digital warehouse for published materials. Our most common databases contain magazine, newspaper and journal articles. We also have databases of encyclopedias and eBooks.

Library databases are constantly updated with new material.

Databases are highly organized and allow you to search for information on a topic by keyword, subject, author, title, and phrase.

Library databases contain credible materials written by experts in their field and/or the information has been evaluated for accuracy before being published.

No advertisements! 
No clickbait!

Summon Single Search

You can now search for articles, ebooks, and other resources from a single search box!

Try Summon now!

          


Summon
® Service increases the value of Libraries by delivering an unprecedented research experience. More than a single-search box, the service makes collections more discoverable and provides unique ways for users to connect with Librarians. The result is a rich research experience that presents results without bias, increases resource usage, strengthens the Library’s role in the research process, and meets user expectations.

Start with These Databases

ProQuest, EBSCO and Gale Off-Campus

Every Database Has:

Databases have different names, subjects, and content, but all of them will have these 3 things:

1. A search box for you to enter keywords. 

2. Ways to refine your search results: for example, by date, scholarly articles only, or journal title. 

3. Ways to manage your research: copy, save, email, print, and choose a citation style.