Skip to main content

Empirical Research Article: Search for Empirical Articles

This guide will help you find empirical research articles in Library databases.

Search for Empirical Research Articles using the electronic databases available through the CSM Library

  • A quick way to look for empirical research is to type your search terms into the database's search box, then add the terms "study" or "studies" to your search to look for articles on your topic area. For example: social media AND study. Limit your search to scholarly/professional journals (usually by a checkbox) if that is an available search option on the database. Evaluate the search results using the guidelines under the previous tab to determine if any of the articles are empirical research articles.
  • If you are having difficulty, other limiting terms that may be helpful include: research, observation, survey, experiment, findings, and subjects or participants. For example: social media AND survey.
  • Possible useful search phrases: longitudinal study or participant group
  • In ProQuest databases, such as the Sociology Database--which can be chosen as an icon on the ProQuest entry page--empirical articles are typically assigned a content code of 9130. You can add this to your search. For example: social media AND cc(9130). ProQuest can also be searched by document type. For example: social media AND dtype(study) or social media AND dtype(comparative study). Evaluate the search results using the guidelines to determine if an article is empirical.

ProQuest Databases

‚Äč ProQuest Databases (on campus)


The easy way to access off-campus? Find ProQuest through myCSMD!