Skip to main content

PSY 1010 White: APA Reference List

Citation Guides

You have a couple of choices when creating a bibliography:

APA Quick Citation Guide

• Use one of the Create-a-Bibliography tools on the CSM library website

• Use Word's References Tab

• Use the citation style manuals:  APA (Ref BF 76.7.P83)

•Use the citation guides found below

Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab): APA Formatting and Style Guide

APA Reference List Tips

General Rules for APA Style Bibliographies

  • Bibliography pages should be titled "References." Title should be centered on the first line and not italicized, underlined, or put in quotes.
  • Bibliography should be double spaced.
  • For each entry, all lines after the first are indented 1/2" (called a "Hanging" indent).
  • All author names are inverted with first and middle names abbreviated. Example: in APA style John James Doe is written Doe, J. J.
  • Entries are alphabatized by author last name.
  • For multiple works by the same author, arrange the entries by date, starting with the earliest.
  • Capitalize only the first word of titles (and subtitles) of books, articles, and websites.
  • Capitalize all words in journal titles.
  • Italicize titles of longer works like book and journal titles.
  • Do not italicize, underline, or put in quotes titles of shorter works like articles or book chapters.
  • Page numbers of a book chapter or newpaper article are precedded by "pp." Page numbers of a journal article are not.
  • For web based resources like website, e-books, and articles in databases, include a URL, precedeed by the phrase "Retrieved from." If the resource has a digital object identifyer (DOI), list that in place of the URL and do not use the phrase "Retrieved from." 
  • Entries end with a period, except for those with a DOI or URL.

 REMEMBER!

  • Be sure to check your work against a style guide, such as the Purdue OWL APA guide, or the APA Manual (call number REF BF 76.7 .P83 2010)!
  • Be sure to use the edition specified by your professor (usually the most recent)! Rules can change from edition to edition!
  • If you have any questions, ask a librarian!

 

APA Reference List Guide - Books

One author

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of work: Subtitle of work. City, State: Publisher.

Arnold, D. (2004). Art history: A very short introduction. New York, NY: Oxford University Press.

 

Editors / More than one author

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year of publication). Title of work: Subtitle of work. City, State: Publisher.

Abzug, R. H., & Maizlish, S. E. (Eds.). (1986). New perspectives on race and slaverly: Essays in honor of Kenneth M. Stampp. Lexington, KY: University Press of Kentucky.

Note: List all author names (up to seven), putting an ampersand (&) before the last. For books with an editor/editors put "Ed." for one editor or "Eds." for more than one, in parentheses between the author(s) and date.

 

Essay, article, or chapter in an edited book

Author, A. A. of the article or chapter (Year of publication). Title of the article or chapter. In A. A. Author of larger work (Ed.), Title of larger work: Subtitle of larger work. (pp. page-page of chapter). City, State: Publisher.

Kallberg, J. (2011). The wings of a butterfly: Sibelius and the problem of musical modernity. In D.M. Grimley (Ed.), Jean Sibelius and his world. (pp. 58-70). Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press.

 

Edition other than the first

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of work: Subtitle of work (nth ed.). City, State: Publisher.

Kowalski, R. M., Limber, S. P., & Agatston, P. W. (2012). Cyberbullying: Bullying in the digital age (2nd ed.). Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell. 

 

e-Book

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of work: Subtitle of work. City, State: Publisher. Retrieved from http://example.com

Gelder, K. (2004). Popular fiction: The logistics and practice of a literary field. New York, NY: Routledge. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=123099&site=ehost-live&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_iii

APA Reference List Guide - Articles

From a print journal

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author C. C. (Year of Publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number(issue number), page-page.

Langmann, C. (2012). Canadian firearms legislation and effects on homicide 1974 to 2008. Journal of Interpersonal Violence, 27(12), 2303-2321.

 

From a database or website, article with a digital object identifyer (DOI)

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author C. C. (Year of Publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number(issue number), page-page. doi: digital object identifyer goes here

Ludeke, S., Johnson, W., McGue, M., & Iacono, W. G. (2013). Genetic aplification and individualization of the parent-child relationship across adolescence. Psychological Medicine, 43(2), 413-422. doi: 10.1017/S0033291712001201

 

From a database or website, article with a URL

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author C. C. (Year of Publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number(issue number), page-page. Retrieved from http://example.com

Zawacki-Richter, O., Baecker, E., & Hanft, A. (2010). Validation of competencies in e-portfolios: A qulalitative analysis. The International Review of Research in Open and Distance Learning, 12(1), 42-60. Retrieved from http://www.irrodl.org/index.php/irrodl/article/view/893/1671

 

Article in a newspaper

Author, A. A.(Year, Month Day of Publication). Title of article. Title of Newspaper, page-page.

Morici, P. (2013, February 6). Suit agains S&P bad for democracy. The Baltimore Sun, p. A.19.

APA Reference List Guide - Websites

Basic Format

Author, A. A. (Year, Month Day of publication). Title of web page. Retrieved from http://web address

Clark, L. (2000, November 11). The lost Inca empire. Retrieved from http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/ancient/lost-inca-empire.html

 

No author

If no author is given, substitute the title for the author name at the beginning of the citation:

AKC breeds by group: Hound group. (2013). Retrieved from http://www.akc.org/breeds/hound_group.cfm

 

Note: Website are often missing pieces of information needed to create a citiation. Check out this handy guide from APA on how to cite web sources with missing information.

Key Points

Choose references judiciously and include only the sources that you used in the research and preparation for the [research assignment].

The best way to ensure that information is accurate and complete is to check references carefully against the original publication.

One purpose of listing references is to enable readers to retrieve and use the sources, reference data must be correct and complete.  

Publication Manual, 180.