Skip to main content

PSY 1010 White: Articles & Databases

Talk to Your Reference Librarians

Need research help? Having trouble finding, identifying or evaluating library resources? That is what your CSM librarians are here to do.  

La Plata 301-934-7626 Leonardtown 240-725-5360 Prince Frederick 443-550-6061

PSY 1010

Brain Map

Britannica's ImageQuest is a great database for images that you can download and use in your coursework and assignments without worrying about copyright. All images are rights-cleared for educational purposes.

Library Databases

What is a database? A searchable electronic warehouse of information that includes journal articles, magazines, books, newspapers, video and more...

The Library purchases databases to make your research easier and to provide more resources than what you would get in a Google search.

The ProQuest default search includes Psychology resources so try this for your initial search.

If you are off-campus click here for databases, then choose ProQuest. You will sign in with your student ID.

Recommended Databases for PSY 1010

Select these specific subject databases in ProQuest and EBSCO to find the most relevant results when searching for topics in psychology. 

For more information on how to select specific subject databases in ProQuest, view the "How to Select Databases in ProQuest and EBSCO" tab.

The database links below are for on-campus computers. Log into myCSMD if you are off-campus. Once signed in, select the parent database you wish to search (ProQuest or EBSCO). Once in the parent database, select the database(s) listed below, using the instructions on the "How to Select" tab.

ProQuest Psychology Over 540 full-text journals covering behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial, and social psychology.

ProQuest Social Science  Academic journals covering a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, and sociology.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Multidisciplinary database with thousands of full-text journals.

ProQuest Research Library Multidisciplinary database covering a wide range of scholarly, trade and consumer publications.


 

Loading

Credo Reference

The professor approved alternative to Wikipedia.

Credo Reference provides access to 3,457,271 full text articles in 832 reference books from 109 publishers. Credo believes that everyone deserves the ability to learn and the opportunity to succeed. Credo promotes knowledge building, problem solving and critical thinking to give people the information skills necessary for success throughout their academic, professional and personal lives. 

Academic e-Books

Search over 150,000 ebooks available 24/7! 

If you are off campus click here for databasesthen choose EBSCO. You will sign in with your student ID. The Academic ebooks are at the end of the EBSCO list.

eBooks

Recommended Journals for Psychology

Search for e-Journals by Title

Browse e-Journals by Subject

Browse e-Journal Titles

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Other

Browse available e-journals:

Loading

Off-Campus Access to Databases

If you are off-campus you can login to my.CSMD then look for "Library Access" near the bottom of the page with links to Library databases.

You can also go to the Library's Homepage and look for "off-campus" links to databases. Enter your six-digit student ID when asked.

Advanced Search Settings For Better Research

The Advanced Search page in both ProQuest and EBSCO gives you options to limit the type of resourses that will show up in your results list, leading to more relevant results.

Start with:

Full Text, Peer Reviewed, and Scholarly Journals

Select the "Full text" box to retrieve atricles with the full text available (not just a summary and citation).

Select the "Peer reviewed" and "Scholarly journals" boxes to limit to academic research journals.

Publication Date

Use "Publication date" (called "Published date" in EBSCO) to limit results to a specific time period.