Skip to main content

Business: Company/Industry Info

Use this guide to explore library materials related to Business

Talk to Your Reference Librarians

Need research help? Having trouble finding, identifying or evaluating library resources? That is what your CSM librarians are here to do.  

La Plata 301-934-7626 Leonardtown 240-725-5360 Prince Frederick 443-550-6061

ProQuest Databases

Find industry and company information in two ProQuest databases.

Looking for industry information? Search the Snapshots database for reports on 43 industries in 40 countries.

Looking for specific company information? Find summary information for over 40,000 companies in the Hoover's Company Profiles database.

To access:

On campus? Follow the Hoover's Company Profiles and Snapshots links below marked ON CAMPUS to go directly to the databases.

Off campus? Follow the Hoover's Company Profiles and Snapshots link below marked OFF CAMPUS to sign-in to CSM's off campus databases with your student ID number. Select the ProQuest database, then select Hoover's or Snapshots database from the database drop-down menu.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Industry Resources

Find industry information in the Gale Virtual Reference Library database. The industry and manufacturing encyclopedias provide background industry information as well as suggested companies in each category.

To access: 

On campus? Click the cover of the books to go directly to that title!

Off campus? Sign in to CSM's off-campus databases and select the Gale database (Infotrac) via the myLibrary box in myCSMD, then select the Gale Virtual Reference Library. Once you are signed in, you can click the cover of the book to go directly to that title!

Business Source Premier (Ebsco)

Business Source Premier 

Use the Business Searching Interface to search for Company, Industry, Country and Market Reports. 

Business Source Premier OFF CAMPUS Login through myCSMD.

Hoover's Academic

On campus?

Looking for information on private and public companies and industries? Try Hoover's Academic if you are on a CSM campus computer (or connected to CSM WiFi!).

The on campus version has more detailed industry information than available through ProQuest including NAICS and SIC codes, lists of companies, trends and opportunities, and business challenges.

To access: Follow the link below for Hoover's Academic on campus access.

Hoover's Academic

LexisNexis Academic

LexisNexis Academic on-campus access only.

Use the drop-down menu Search by Subject or Topic for Company profiles, SEC filings, Market and Industry reports, and news articles. 

On the Web