Skip to main content

Off-Campus Database Access: How to Access Databases Off-Campus

Access CSM Library Databases Off-Campus

Trouble logging in?  

Are you on proquest.com, ebsco.com, or cengage.com? 
Those sites aren't set up to recognize your CSM log in information.
To access the databases as a CSM student, staff, or faculty member, use one of the options listed on this page.

As a CSM student, faculty, or staff member you have access to the ProQuest, EBSCO, and Gale Group/Infotrac databases when you are off-campus!

You have two options when logging into the databases:

For detailed directions for each access option view the video, screenshot, or PDF tutorials on this page to get started.

Need help logging in?

Need research help?

Having trouble finding, identifying, or evaluating library resources?

Call a CSM Reference Librarian! We can help with that!

La Plata 301-934-7626          Leonardtown 240-725-5360        Prince Frederick 443-550-6061

Access Option 1: Off-Campus Database Access from myCSMD

Access Option 1 Video Tutorial: Off-Campus Database Access from myCSMD

Video trouble? Try viewing in Mozilla Firefox. Or check out the screenshot tutorial or the PDF handout for the same information!

Closed Captioning Available


Access Option 1 Screenshot Tutorial: Off-Campus Database Access from myCSMD

You can access the ProQuest, EBSCO, and Gale/Infotrac datasbases off-campus from the myLibrary box in myCSMD.

  1. Go to the myCSMD log-in page by clicking “Visit myCSMD” on the CSM homepage, or the “myCSMD” link in the header on any CSM webpage
  2. Log-in with your myCSMD username and password
  3. If you don’t know your username or password, click the “Username/Password Help” link to retrieve it
  4. Once logged-in, scroll down to the “myLibrary” box on your myCSMD homepage
  5. Select the off-campus database you wish to search
  6. Search the database, you are now logged in!

Library databases available off-campus in the myLibrary box through myCSMD: ProQuest, EBSCO, Gale/Infotrac

Access Option 2: Off-Campus Database Access with CSM ID Number

Access Option 2 Video Tutorial: Off-Campus Database Access with CSM ID Number

Video trouble? Try viewing in Mozilla Firefox. Or check out the screenshot tutorial or the PDF handout for the same information!

Closed Captioning Available


Access Option 2 Screenshot Tutorial: Off-Campus Database Access with CSM ID Number

You can access the ProQuest, EBSCO, and Gale/Infotrac datasbases from off-campus through the CSM library website, csmd.edu/library.

  1. From any CSM webpage, use the “CSM Quick Links” dropdown menu and select “Library”
  2. On the Library homepage, select the “Off-Campus” link under the “Card Catalog and Databases” heading
  3. Select the off-campus database you wish to search
  4. Enter your seven-digit CSM ID number (found on your ID card) and click “Connect”
  5. Select the off-campus database you wish to search and click “Connect”
  6. Search the database, you are now logged in!

Use the Off-campus link on the CSM library homepage to access off-campus databases with your CSM ID number.